Lyceum International School News

Prefects induction ceremony of Lyceum International School

The oaths taking and prefects induction ceremony of Lyceum International School, Nugegoda was held under the patronage of Mr.Nikitha Grero, Director, Lyceum International Schools.

Lyceum Wattala Under 17 Cricket Champions for The Second Consecutive Year

Lyceum International School Wattala Team won the Under 17 Championship for the second  consecutive year playing against Wycherly International School Colombo in the Final held, recently at Health Grounds. The tournament was organized by Wycherly  International School , Colombo. 


Standing From Left to Right : 

Mr. Manjula Prasanna (Coach & TIC), Mr. Samith Dhanushka (Coach), Ms. Iverine Nadaraja (Asst. Sports Coordinator), Asela Attanayake, Pavith Lahadupurage, Abinesh Ravichandran, Achin Weerathunga, Dilshan Jayawardane, Dan Aaron Vaas, Mishara Silva, Thimira Jayasekara, Imanth Fernando, Mr. Lalith De Silva (Coach), Mr. Shehan Samaratunga (Coach) 


Sitting From Left to Right : 

Dulaj Nair, Praveen Silva, Asher Kulakulasuriya, Rashen Perera, Saleem Huzama, Monel Silva, Chandira Yasaswin, Mishal Perera.



Best Fielder -  Thimira Jayasekara

Man of the Final -Abinesh Ravichandran

Lyceum Wattala Under 19 Girls Basketball Champions 2015

The International Schools Under 19 Girls Basketball Tournament organized by British School Colombo was held recently. Lyceum International School Wattala girls team led by Mandhari Fernando played against Lyceum International School Panadura, Colombo International School Colombo and Gateway College Colombo in their first round matches. Lyceum Wattala beat British School at the Semi Finals and the finals were played against Lyceum International School,  Nugegoda.

In the finals Lyceum Wattala scored 64 points and became Champions, while Lyceum Nugegoda scored 47 points and became runners up.

The awards for Best Defensive Player and Most Valuable Player was won by Lubna Morseth and Hazeena Abdul respectively.

Standing from left:Festus Perera(Coach)Nishni Perera, Pawani Ranepura, Kasuni De Silva,Lubna Morseth, Mandhari Fernando, Mihinsa De Alwis, Asha Nisma, Shyni Hettiarachchi, Waruni Basnayake(TIC) Asanka Perera (Coach)

Seated from left:Shenel Dias, Hazeena Abdul ,Rashmi Perera and Tharinduni Rodrigo

Pirith chanting ceremony at Lyceum International School

A Pirith Chanting Ceremony and an alms giving initiated by students of Lyceum Buddhist Society   was held recently, at Lyceum International School, Nugegoda.

The ceremonies were attended by the Maha Sangha led by Most Ven Bogambara Rathanajothi Thero, Chief Sanganayake,  Colombo District.

Mr.Mohan Lal Grero, founder of the Lyceum International Schools, Mrs. Kumari Grero, Coordinating Principal, Ms.Wenuri Hettiarachchi, Principal, Mr.Nikitha Grero, Director, multi religious students and parents were also present at the ceremony.

Cetus House Champions of Lyceum Inter House Senior Athletic Meet

Cetus House of Lyceum International School, Nugegoda emerged Champions collecting 260 points at the Inter-House Senior Athletic Meet held under the patronage of Mr. Vasanth Yathawaraj ,Former Head Prefect (2005/06) of Lyceum International School, Nugegoda.

Mr. Nikitha Grero, Director of Lyceum International Schools, Ms.Wenuri Hettiarachchi,Principal, Mr.Vijith Fernando, Deputy Principal, Mr. Ahamed Aslam, Deputy Principal, Mr. Nishantha Perera, Deputy Director of Sports, Mr. Sameera Pathum, Head of Sports and Mr.Gishan Mannage, Deputy Sports Coordinator were also present on the occasion. 


House positions: 

Champions  :  Cetus House  260 points 

Runners up : Ursa House  242 points

2nd Runners up  :  Aquila House  241 points

Fourth  : Cygnus House 198 Points 


The following are the champion athletes of the respective houses:

  • Under 14 Boys’ Champion  - Lashawn De Mel of Cetus House
  • Under 14 Girls’ Champion  - Ranindhi Lisara of Ursa House
  • Under 16 Boys’ Champion  - Rushdy Ashrof of Cygnus House
  • Under 16 Girls’ Champion - Nethmini Si
    lva of Aquila House and Binadi Diddeniya of Cygnus House
  • Under 18 Boys’ Champion  - Vishene De Silva of Ursa House
  • Under 18 Girls’ Champion - Chanuki Jayawardena of Ursa House and Saduni Pathirana of Aquila House
  • Under 20 Boys’ Champion  - Manula Perera of Cetus House
  • Under 20 Girls’ Champion  - Thilini Thalapitigoda of Cetus House 
  • Best Performer (Girls) of the meet - Binadi Diddeniya of Cygnus House 
  • Best Performer (Boys) of the meet - Vishene De Silva of Ursa House