Lyceum International School News

Under 15 Girls Badminton team of Lyceum, Wattala champions of the All Island B Division Badminton Championship


The Under 15 Girls Badminton team of Lyceum International School, Wattala were champions at the All Island “B” Division Badminton Championship which was organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Badminton Associations held at Welagedara Indoor Stadium, Kurunegala recently.  

In the final match Lyceum International School won the championship beating President College, Nawala by 4 - 1.

Standing Back Row

Mr. Senani Cooray (T.I.C. Badminton and Asst. Coach), Nandhithaa Nandakumar, Himaya Wijesekara,

Samrita Kannan, Shavindri Perera, Theruni Himara, Udana Jagoda, Mr. Chinthana Adikari (Coach)

Standing Front Row

Taniya Seneviratna, Thulashi Tharaneesparan, Manuki Chandrasekara (Captain), Tasha Perera, Sevini Vandebona, Krishnika Raveendranathan (Absent in the Photo)


The All Island -“B” Division Schools Badminton Championship organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Badminton Association was held recently, at Municipal Indoor Stadium, Nuwara Eliya.

Lyceum International School, Wattala won the Boys under 18 Doubles Championship beating D. S. Senanayake College, Colombo by 3-0.


Mr. Upendra Jayawardane (Coach), Pranavan Sudhahar (Captain), Kevin Amarasekara, Santhush Thilakarathne, Nisalka Fernando, Kaveesha Muthukuda, Tharin Perera, Ryan Perera, Pasan Aluthge,    Lohan Yapa, Ashley Medows, Kavinda Gayashan, Mr. Senani Cooray (T.I.C. Badminton and Asst. Coach)

Lyceum International School Frozen Event 2015

The students from Grades One to Eight of Lyceum International School Nugegoda brought to life the Magic of the wonderful songs  and the story of  ‘FROZEN’ at their school hall the Bellerephon on August 1st and 2nd 2015.

The wonderful songs of Robert and Kristen Lopez sung by nearly 350 voices transported the audience to the land of Arendelle and the wonder of a tale of love between sisters marred by cryokinetic powers that go out of control. A lively and exuberant Anna played along the chillingly cold and magnetic Elsa. A dashing Hans and charming Kristoff literally stepped out of the 3d Animated movie, they together with a giant puppet Marshmellow , left the audience spellbound.

Olaf’s spirit of optimism was infectious as he sang and danced with a vibrant group of seven year olds who certainly lit the stage up with the radiance of summer. The element of magic was exercised by a Grand Pabbie who certainly had to be a king over his quirky group of trolls whose lively dancing spelt the way to the ‘ fixer-upper’ needed to bring Elsa’s powers  into proper focus. Certainly love prevailed as these youngsters enabled the audience to feel its power not just in retel
ling a tale but in living it to every detail on stage.

The wonderful world of FROZEN was best experienced ‘live’ by the audience as a spectacular display of lights; these with costumes that captured every detail of the originals gave further authenticity to the  scenes.

Outstanding singer’s of the evening were Celinda Hettiarachchi, Megan Adaman, Sanali Gunawardana, Hiruhimni Wijetunga, Thunu Ratnayake, Akith Dissanayake, Adish Ediriweera, Kashmin Wijayasekara, Nisal Liyanage, Azeem Muthaliph and Joshua Niles.

Kudos to the talented cast and staff of Lyceum’s Theatron for enabling this Amazing production.

Sam Chandrasinghe Challenge Trophy Seven a side Soccer Tournament 2015

As the name suggests, this seven a side tournament was organized by the Old Anandians Soccer Wing held on the 25th and 26th of July 2015 at Sugathadasa Outdoor stadium. Nearly 64 schools island-wide participated for this two day tournament among which Lyceum International School Nugegoda was one of them.

Several matches were played on which Lyceum International Nugegoda took over Carey College Colombo and Rahula College Matara and met semi-finals with St. Joseph’s Maradana beating them with 1-0 that led to the finals with Kottawa Dharmapala School on the second day at 26th showing a remarkable performance aiming for the PLATE CHAMPIONS. The opponent was beaten at 2-0 bagging the trophy at victory.

Vishene De Silva being an Under 17 player scored both the goals at the finals - one prior to half time and the other after half time. The match was set for 20 minutes and the captain of the team was Sanjana Gunawardena. The team was coached by Mr. Lalith Perera and the TIC being Mr. Malith Achintha Rajapaksha.

42nd Sri Lanka Schools Age Group Aquatic Championship 2015

The swimming team of 32 students at Lyceum International School Nugegoda participated for the 42nd Annual Sri Lanka Schools Age Group Aquatic Championship 2015 that took place from 18th to 21st of June 2015 at Sugathadasa Stadium Swimming Complex.

The event was organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Aquatic Sports Association (SLSASA) and nearly 146 schools took part in this four-day event. Several events took places from Lyceum international School Nugegoda. which was positioned with 124.5 points in Boys’ Junior Category and 81 points in Girls’ Junior Category. It is also the tremendous efforts placed by Lyceum Swimming Team for this event, contributed to earn more points as a success factor.

Seated row from left - Kumari Vandort (Assistant to Deputy Director of Sports cum Asst.TIC Swimmng )Nelum Priyadarshani (TIC Swimming),Wenuri Hettiarachchi (Principal),Nikitha Grero (Director) , Nishantha Perera (Deputy Director of Sports cum Head Coach Swimming), Sameera Pathum (Sports Coordinator)
Standing from left 1st row - Chanulka Panadura,Janindu Gangahagedara,Sasindu Kaluarachchi,Tevan Talagalage,Chris Pavithra,Savin Kaluarachchi,Arkha
sh Saravanakumar,Nadiv Herath,Methya Weerakkody,Yana Hettgedara,Vilara Ranasinghe,Kethaki Wijayasuriya,Sanuldi De Silva,Methuki Gunawardana,Umeja Ranasinghe,Onelli Yahampath.
Standing from left 2nd row - Dinithi Peris,Komudi Pinnedoowa,Ovin Gamage,Sachin Kaluarachchi,Sanuk Pieris,Samindra Banu,Yenuka Gunetilake,Lavanya Wjegunetileke,Anuji Dias,Senanya Jayathilake,Akshi Suppiah,Kashmin Wijeyasekera,Janith Wicramanayake.
Standing from left 3nd row - Ashoka Jayawardana,Prasad Kanchana,Samith Nuwan,Suresh Silva,Gihan Jayaprasad,Indika Hewage (Assistant Swimming Coaches)